[ad_1] Popular railway stations and their changed names

Popular railway stations and their changed names

Mar 14, 2024

Panchali Dey

Who can change the name of a railway station?

Contrary to common belief, it's the state government, not Indian Railways, that decides on renaming railway stations. Only the state government has full authority in this matter.


Mughalsarai Junction changed to Pt. Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Railway Junction, Uttar Pradesh

Deen Dayal Upadhyaya, a Jan Sangh leader, was killed in a train incident on February 11, 1968. The first attempt to rename in his honour was made by a BJP-led government in 1992.


Allahabad Junction changed to Prayagraj Junction, Uttar Pradesh

The name change happened when the city was also renamed as Prayagraj.


Habibganj railway Station changed to Rani Kamlapati railway station, Madhya Pradesh

In November 2021, the MP Government renamed the railway station to Rani Kamalapati in honour of Gond queen Rani Kamalapati. The station was also redeveloped and reopened in the same month.


Oshiwara Railway Station changed to Ram Mandir Railway Station, Maharashtra

The prevalent belief among most people and other authorities is that it is named Ram Mandir due to the presence of a large Ram Mandir in the vicinity of Oshiwara.


Churchgate railway station changed to Sir CD Deshmukh, Mumbai

In February 2023, a resolution was passed to rename the station "Chintamanrao Deshmukh station" in honour of former RBI governor and Union Finance Minister CD Deshmukh.


You may also like

Most gorgeous beaches in India that are ...
8 destinations in Arunachal Pradesh perf...

Udhampur Railway Station changed to Martyr Captain Tushar Mahajan Railway Station, J&K

On September 17, 2023, Udhampur Railway Station was renamed to honour the brave son of the soil, Martyr Captain Tushar Mahajan from Udhampur's Adarsh Colony area.


Panki Railway Station changed to Panki Dham Railway Station, Uttar Pradesh

Panki Railway Station in Kanpur was renamed 'Panki Dham' Railway Station, as ‘dham’ signifies a sacred place for Hindus.


Faizabad Junction changed to Ayodhya Cantt, Uttar Pradesh

Established in 1874, Faizabad railway station is part of the Northern Railway zone and is situated within the Lucknow-Varanasi section. It underwent a name change in 2021.


Thanks For Reading!

Next: Most gorgeous beaches in India that are actually real